The Stuff That Dreams Are Made Of

A couple weeks ago, I walked into the Paramount Theatre for the first time as the new Paramount Film Institute Programmer, and I was both overwhelmed and overjoyed.

Sure, I’ve spent plenty of time in the Paramount enjoying classic films and introducing new ones as the Film Program Director at Austin Film Festival, a job I held for the past two years. But this time, as I stepped into the room and let the responsibility of this storied theatre’s film program truly sink in, I fulfilled a longstanding dream of mine and also recognized that an awesome and exciting challenge now awaits me.

paramount exterior

Or should I say, “awaits us.” The Paramount and Stateside Theatres are a part of that increasingly rare breed of community-based, mission-driven cinemas. The “community-based” part means that, even though it’s my responsibility to bring you the very best that both classic and indie film have to offer, you play a significant role in our theatres, too.

Beyond simply providing your support and attending our screenings, you give us the feedback that helps us make the Paramount and Stateside such great places to see films. Are you pining after a beloved film that you haven’t seen in years? Don’t be afraid to chat with me about it when you see me at the theatre (I love talking old movies, that’s why I’m here!). Have you heard about an exciting new indie film that has film lovers abuzz? Drop me a line and make sure it’s on my radar.

paramount interior

Long story short, my mission is you, the film lovers who will continue to put down their tablets and support the theatrical experience. The Paramount will carry on fighting for the preservation and exhibition of our cinematic history, and you, as always, will remain our greatest allies.

What I want, most of all, is to provide you with the same feeling I had when I arrived for my first day on the job: an appreciation of the great history and vital importance of these theatres, and an anticipation for all the great things to come. I look forward to meeting you at the movies very soon and staring up at all those wonderful flickering pictures together.

-Stephen Jannise

P.S. Stay tuned to this blog, as I will be updating it regularly with thoughts on films new and old. This week, I’ll be focusing on the great batch of holiday films we have for you, starting Sunday night 12/9 with National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation and Bad Santa, both in the Paramount on glorious 35mm!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Stuff That Dreams Are Made Of

  1. Amy C says:

    The Maltese Falcon

    • stephenjannise says:

      Hey Amy C, you win two film tickets! Just email me your full name at sjannise@austintheatre.org, and I will have two tickets waiting for you at the Paramount box office will call. Just stop by before any of our upcoming film screenings to claim them!

  2. The line is from the Maltese Falcon!

    • stephenjannise says:

      Hey Lisa, you replied at the exact same minute as Amy C, so you win two free tickets as well! Just email me your full name at sjannise@austintheatre.org, and I will have two tickets waiting for you at the Paramount box office will call. Just stop by before any of our upcoming film screenings to claim them!

  3. It’s from the Maltese Falcon

  4. Lorena says:

    Hey, the headline of this post is from The Maltese Falcon.

  5. Lynn Klein says:

    Originally from Shakespeare’s, The Tempest, however, more recently from The Maltese Falcon.

  6. Wade Utley says:

    Maltese Falcon.

  7. Danimal says:

    A couple of films I’d love to see on the big screen: SIERRA MADRE, RED RIVER, THE QUIET MAN, SINGING IN THE RAIN, BEN HUR, ELMER GANTRY, MUSIC MAN, THE GREAT ESCAPE. Thanks for all that you guys do – my whole family (wife & 2 kids) look forward to the Summer Film Series every year.

Leave a Reply

