Summer Classic lineup announced!

It’s here! Really excited to announce the 80 film series, starting May 20th with CASABLANCA and special guest Peter Bogdanovich and running till September 4th with GONE WITH THE WIND.

I’ll be doing a series of posts over the next couple weeks helping to breakdown the series and pointing out some highlights, but for now you tell me: what are you excited about?

About Jesse Trussell

Film programmer for the Paramount Theatre in Austin, TX.
This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Summer Classic lineup announced!

  1. desslocktx says:

    Hmmm. Seeing Peter Bogdanovich is very tempting. I always buy a book of ten tickets every Summer.

  2. Marcelo Teson says:

    The Billy Wilder/Jack Lemmon double feature is fantastic. I’m also thrilled about the 70mm presentations of 2001 and Baraka, and I’m always glad to see West Side Story and Vertigo again.

    Last summer you basically read my mind and gave me almost all of my all time favorites – Sunset Blvd, Umbrellas of Cherbourg, Vertigo, Breathless, Sunrise (!!!) – this one is not as creepily mind-readingly perfect for me but I really love the scope of it.

    Question – is the True Grit the John Wayne or the Jeff Bridges?

  3. Randy says:

    The summer film series hasn’t even started and you’ve already started cancellations!
    If this and the screening of 1.37:1 aspect ratio films letterboxed on all four sides doesn’t stop, my movie appreciation group (262 members) will boycott the film series.

    • Hi Randy,

      Trust me no one feels as bad about the cancellations as I do, they are just an unfortunate part of the summer here at the theatre. I work my hardest to keep them to an absolute minimum though.

      As for the projection issues, this is my first summer as the programmer for the series. As an attendee in the past I’ve not seen anything like you’ve described, but if it happens this summer send me an email or come find me, I’ll be at the theater for 90% of all screenings. We work very hard to make sure that things are presented as the filmmakers intended, and certainly don’t want to show things in an improper aspect ratio.

      Thanks again for your support of the series!

      • Randy says:

        Thanks for your reply! I’ve attended dozens of screenings at the Paramount over the past dozen years or so and last year was the first time that the entire height of the screen was not utilized for films like The Adventures of Robin Hood and The Bride of Frankenstein (and every other film I saw that was made pre-widescreen era). I’m not complaining that they were shown at an incorrect aspect ratio (the aspect ratio was fine) and I’m not saying that a single bit of the film was chopped off, I’m complaining that they were not using all of the screen that they could have. I expect that any film being screened should fill up the vertical dimension of the screen. The effect I’m talking about is similar to watching a DVD on a computer: you can either watch it fullscreen or you can watch it in a smaller window. I don’t want to see a film projected with its image reduced by probably at least 25% of the size possible.

      • Thanks for the clarification! I will talk to our projectionist, we certainly want to utilize the entire screen.

  4. Angie says:

    I look forward to this event every year but over the last two summers and this one inlcuded I have been quite disappointed in the films chosen. I know it’s not possible to please everyone but I am noticing a trend of too many newer films (70s and later). I know that films from the 70s and 80s are old enough to have “classic film” status but many movies from those decades are still shown quite often at the Alamo Drafthouse theaters. Whereas the older films from the 30s-50s are not shown very often and we rely on the Paramount’s summer film series to see them in all their glory on the big screen. I love the Paramount theater and I really do appreciate all the hard work that goes into putting this film series together but I’d just like to put in my two cents of showing fewer 70s and later films. Thanks!

    • Hi Angie,

      Thanks for your feedback. With the series we are certainly trying to expand the scope of classic cinema in Austin, but our main focus will always be on films from the Hollywood golden age. Hope to see you at the theatre this summer!

  5. John says:

    Really excited for the series. Small note, the write-up of “Aliens” states “Cameron took over the director’s chair on this classic sequel (he only wrote the first film) ….”

    Cameron didn’t have any involvement with the first film, “Alien.” Dan O’Bannon wrote the screenplay.

    Cameron apparently drew a lot of inspiration for “Aliens” from the writing he did for “Rambo: First Blood Part II.”

Leave a Reply

